Three scientists win Nobel chemistry prize for ‘snapping molecules collectively’ to design medicines | World Information

The Nobel chemistry prize has been awarded to 3 scientists who’ve developed a approach of “snapping molecules collectively” to design new medicines.

“Click on chemistry” or bio-orthogonal reactions can be utilized to provide new most cancers medicine and map DNA.

It’s the work of US scientists Carolyn R Bertozzi and Ok Barry Sharpless, and Morten Meldal from Denmark.

Mr Sharpless, of Scripps Analysis in California, received the identical award in 2001 and is just the fifth particular person to obtain a Nobel chemistry accolade twice.

Ms Bertozzi relies at Stanford College in California whereas Mr Meldal works on the College of Copenhagen.

Final yr the chemistry prize was given to Benjamin Record and David WC MacMillan for inventing a extra environmentally pleasant approach to construct molecules.

The panel stated it was “already benefiting humankind enormously”.

French scientist Alain Side, Anton Zeilinger of Austria, and John F Clauser from the US received the Nobel physics prize on Tuesday.

Learn extra:
‘Skinometer’ can detect invisible pores and skin most cancers
Elon Musk’s Twitter deal again on

They found that tiny particles can nonetheless have a connection even after they’re separated – generally known as quantum entanglement, which can be utilized in computing and encryption.

The chemistry prize was introduced on the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm on Wednesday, with the literature award as a result of be introduced on Thursday and peace prize on Monday.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *